The only official rules:
Official page FAQ:
Rule clarifications and advanced ruling FAQ:
Eases interactions with complications for now in many gray zones. Do a keyword search (usually CTRL+F) among these for special ability name, card or character names. It’s usually here!
Opus 1, 2 and some misprint/errata listen below.
|Cards affected:||Error/problem/question||Answer||Related Sources|
|Machina, Enuo, Golbez||If Machina or Enuo collides with an opponent and both go to break zone – will their abilities still trigger? (4k burn, Out of Game)||Yes – if Machina or Enuo crashes into a forward and both forwards break – the forwards are put into the break zone effectively at the same time. Turn player does his part first. While being put into the break zone it is counted as both still were on field thus Enuo and Machina burn would still occur. Machina will not chain to more after this as it is in the break zone.|
|Seven & Yuna (H)||What can Seven stop? Does it stop all of Yuna’s abilities? Or just one?||When Seven’s special is used – you pick 1x (S) Special or 1x Auto Ability and cancel it’s effect. With Yuna as example, it could cancel her Auto Ability which triggers “on-play” but her field ability with a replacement effect remains active and can’t be canceled by Seven.|
|Nine||If a forward appear after Nine’s special ability resolves – is it allowed to block? For example producing a new forward after it’s used by effects of Scarmiglione or Tama.||No, Nine’s Special changes the rules. No forward is allowed to be declared as a blocking character. Cannot also overrules must (in case of Cecil L)|
|Amarant & Yuna H||If the target of Amarant never reaches the Break Zone because of Yuna H – does it still deal damage?||Yuna H does not block Amarant from working. The wording “[..]the forward put into the break zone” is to clearly reference where the amount of damage done is taken from. That it reaches the break zone is not a requirement for the effect to resolve.|
|Amarant & removal/field effects||If the target of Amarant is removed, how much damage is dealt? Printed?||Just like Warrior of Light – the damage dealt is equal to the last known power of the forward you put into the break zone as cost. So if it had Maria – it would be printed cost +1k.|
|Cards affected:||Error/problem/question||Answer||Related Sources|
|Backups played with effects like Tama or Ingus||If played from hand to field – backups enter tapped. Does the same go when they are played through effects like Ingus or Tama?||When played – a backup always enters the field tapped.|
|Warrior of Light & Barbariccia||If I use Barbariccia’s Special Ability. Does the light element Warrior of Light have 1k or 3k hp left?||3k. Barbariccia’s damage is calculated first – Warrior of Light simply reduces the inflicted damage. First calculate damage (7k) then deal it (Warrior of Light reduction –> 5k). Then Warrior of Light finally takes the damage.|
|Multiple modifiers to damage taken||If a card have multiple effects that change damage taken. Like a Rosso made into a Warrior of Light and you currently control the light version of Warrior of Light. Which reduction of damage comes first?||Rosso’s controling player chooses which reduction comes first.|
|Multiple modifications to damage dealt||If there are multiple changes to damage dealt (like warrior of light (fire r), summoner (opus2fire).
Example: Fire Warrior of Light with a Summoner’s broken this turn. Backed up by Maria.
|Player controlling Warrior of Light decides order of these 2 damage modifications. Maria increaes power with +1k, Warrior of Light now deals either (6k*2)+1k or (6k+1k)*2.|
|Raubahn and removal||If “forward 1” chosen by Raubahn is removed, how much damage is dealt to “Forward 2”?||The effect cannot be resolved as at resolution, forward 1 is not a legal target, thus Raubahn’s effect fizzle.|
|Rosso & damage taken||Is damage taken by Rosso rounded up or down? If I deal 9k damage to Rosso – does it become 4k or 5k?||Damage dealt to Rosso is rounded up like specified on the card. So 5k.|
|Ninja 2-061C||If I activate ninja twice – does damage double twice?||However many times ninja have activated this skill – the damage is only doubled.|
|Balthier and backups with reactivate||If I control Balthier (2-065L) and play Rikku (2-071R) can I somehow get both Rikku’s activate and Balthier’s?||Yes, when the first activate resolve – use Balthier’s action ability. Then let the next resolve. If uninterrupted – the Opus 2 White Mage, Opus 1 White Mage & Rikku both gives 2 activations of Balthier’s per play! Lot’s of burn \o/|
|Al-Cid & no target||Can Al-Cid play a card to the field despite there not being an active forward that Al-Cid can target with his effect?||Al-Cid can be played to the field but if there is no legal target (opponent’s active forward) his effect is ignored. Without a legal target it cannot be put on the stack. No burn nor forward being played.
The entire effect also fizzles if the target is made illegal or if the target is removed from field. Example: Aerith (S)/Scholar (Bounce).
|Warrior of Light (L) & removal||
Warrior of Light (L), if he is removed from the board when (S) Bitter End is on stack, does it any deal damage?
|Bitter end deals damage as if he was still the field. If he has already been moved to another zone then it will be referenced as if it had not yet left it’s original location.|
|Golbez + Archfiends||Golbez clumsily uses the term “[..]put into the break zone” which makes people wonder if those part of the cost reduce etc||This should read – for each unique archfiend IN the break zone. The archfiends put into break zone while paying for Golbez changes nothing. The cost is already calculated prior to payment.|
|Shelke, Al-Cid and other on-play with effect with a “reward” for playing it||If I play Al-Cid – Does damage resolve first so I could play Onion Knight to finish off the now damaged target?||On play you declare a target and put Al-Cids complete effect on stack. At point of resolution – Al-Cid’s effect fully resolves and the character is played just after dealing the damage. Al-Cids burn resolves before play. Onion Knight now have a damaged target in Al-Cid’s case.|
|Al-Cid||If Al-Cid have no target or if the target is made illegal. Does the whole ability fizzle? So no burn and no character played?||If Al-Cid have no target or target is made illegal – no burn and no character being played! Just like with Sylph (see sources) the rest of the ability fizzles if a part before it is made illegal (choosing for example).|
|Laguna opus 2 [CAA] & Snow H interaction||If Laguna and Snow Party attack. Which goes first? Can I choose?||They are put on stack at the exact same time. You choose which goes first in this case. Please note that Laguna does not trigger if there is no dull forward before the party attack.|
|Emperor & activation abilities||What abilities does the new Opus II Emperor prevent activation of?||The new Emperor prevents activation & special abilities from being used – defined by Kageyama-san as abilities using the following syntax: “[COST] : [Effect]”. (S) abilities included.|
|Dark Backups||Cosmos & Chaos were unique – but can the new dark backups be tapped for CP too?||Dark backups act like any other backup. They can be tapped for a single CP of their element. See supplied rules for how backups act, this is no different 🙂|
|EX Bursts and auto abilities. Ashe, Kuja, Rosa etc||Can an Ex burst trigger auto abilities like Ashe, Kuja and Rosa despite not exactly being part of stack? Will Brynhildr Ex break ashe?||Ashe breaks – while Brynhildr ex triggers ashes effect, Ashe’s +3k would resolve after the ex burst. Unfortunately, Brynhildr is enough to break Ashe|
|Raubahn & dealing damage (Warrior of Light, Cid Highwind)||Does abilities like Warrior of Light (R, Fire) work with Raubahn’s effect? Is it treated like the forward is dealing the actual damage or Raubahn?||It’s indeed treated like the forward is dealing the damage to Raubahn – if Warrior of Light (R Fire) deal’s damage to a card of cost 4 or higher, it’s damage is doubled. Cid Highwind dealing damage to a character through Raubahn could force it’s mill effect through! 🙂|
|Tifa L & it’s effect timing||If Tifa uses L but my opponent produce a new forward – is it still bound by the Tifa L effect (scarmiglione or Tama + 1-3cost forward for example).||Yes, Tifa’s effect is a lingering effect that changes the game’s mechanics for this turn – stating that a forward of cost 3 or less cannot block until end of turn.|
|Vincent (L) breaking||Would a black mage bringing Vincent to zero power force him to break despite only breaking to “damage”?||Yes, power reduction will force Vincent to the break zone. His power is reduced to 0. It does stop things more like Odin, Divider, Omnislash etc.|
|Tama & Xande||Can Tama play Emperor Xande with other than Fire CP?||Yes, Tama’s ability let’s us play a card on Tama’s terms. This supercedes Xande’s fire only cost requirement.|
|Cards affected||Error/problem||Confirmed to be:||Related sources|
|Kimahri||If Kimahri uses Ronso’s rage on Cloud (L). Since it doesn’t state that I must choose an ability but a Character the opponent control – does Kimahri gain both abilities?||Yes, Kimahri gains all of the chosen opposing forward’s Special abilities and can use each of the character’s Special abilities once for free.|
|Wakka (S) Status Reels on cards with abilities
|If I use Status Reels on a Gilgamesh with it’s (S) Morphing Time active. Does it become 1k?||Gilgamesh changes the printed card to 1k power. The effect added on top persists – Gilgamesh becomes 8k.|
|Activate/dull cards already in that state
|Can I use a dull or activate a forward already on that state? So activate an already active forward is possible?||As long as it’s a legal target you may dull or activate a card already in the state you attempt to put it into.
Sylph/Faerie can be used on an activate forward, Snow (H) can target a dull forward.
|Paine [conditional activation]||If I play Paine and play Yuna and Rikku in response to it’s effect (Tama & Devout?). Do I get the Paine benefits?||Paine’s ability enters and immediately dissapear from stack as it checks for the condition on play and no matches.|
|Costs payed after “:”||Bahamut’s fury can cost effectively 4 cp, where a single card could be discarded to deal 7k instead of 5. But when is this card discarded?||Bahamut’s fury’s extra card is payed at resolution, not upon payment & declaration.|
|Terra (R) & removal||If Terra (R) is played and you double her damage. If she is removed as a response. Does the double still count or is it a field effect and thus offline?||Terras (S) is a field effect. If she is no longer present – the damage modifier is lost. Damage still resolves unless target is made illegal (reactivated or missing for example)|
|Cecil||If I Tama -> Cecil (Water) as response to a summon. Is the spells target now illegal, since it isn’t targeting Cecil?||No, Cecil was not on field when the target was chosen, so Cecil was never a legal target.|
|Tama, Summoner (Li) & cost reduced cards||Tama plays characters differently, and Lightning (Starter) is now 2 cheaper to play because of having 2x FFXIII forwards. Can I play Lightning if I break Tama and pay 4 CP?||When referring to “characters of cost x” or summons – it’s printed costs. So Tama can play up to a printed cost of X where X is the ammount you payed apart from breaking Tama.|
|Gordon, Minwu and non-lethal damage interaction||If my Gordon blocks and the opponent resolves a dancer after Gordons ability is resolved. With Minwu among my backups, does Gordon die?||Gordon dies. Gordon makes the first source of damage deal zero. Minwu comes after this and sais Gordon doesn’t take damage lower than his health. Unfortunately Gordon still dies as his ability is now used.|
|Dull & activate effects||Can I use Shiva on a target already dulled to also get a freeze? And use sylph on an active forward?||It is allowed to dull a dulled forward and activate an activated forward for example. But not as payment! Only effects.|
|Characters breaking when both have Yuna (H)||If both players control Yuna (H). Who chooses what happens to a forward that goes from field to break zone?||Both players then get the option to send it out of the game. None can force it to stay.|
|Characters going to break zone as payment & Yuna H||Does Yuna (H) prevent Archer, Tama & Devout as we cannot pay the costs? They don’t go to break zone.||No, paying the costs is enough. If an ability changes the “result” is ignored. Yuna doesn’t block archer for example.|
|Cloud of Darkness||If I play Cloud of Darkness, do you select targets upon play or resolution?||Cloud of Darkness targets are selected upon resolution of the spell|
|Bartz||In the text box it sais “Bartz has all the jobs”. If I can search a knight, can I pick Bartz?||Bartz is mostly unemployed when in hand or deck. Only on the field is he considered as having all the jobs.|
|Cards abilities/effect that use “Select” or “Choose” wording||Cloud of Darkness ability says select. Can Zidane be chosen? Must Cecil be chosen?||The wording “Select” is not the same as “Choose”. Zidane & Cecil’s unique effects are ignored when selecting a target.|
|requirements like [dulled][active]||Does Mustadio’s on play effect or Laguna’s (S) Desperado fail if my opponent reactivates their forward with Sylph or Faerie as response to it?||The ability no longer has a legal target when it’s time to resolve it. Aerith, Sylph, Faerie or Titan might stop these from resolving since they change forward dull/active state required.||Twitter (Aerith, related)|
|Emperor, Golbez, Vanille, Yuna (H/5cost)||Does Yuna counter & block Golbez’, Emperor’s and Vanille’s effects?||The ability doesn’t trigger. In this case, card is removed instead of put into the breakzone.|
|Power loss (Kain) / Black Mage (Opus 2)||What happens if a card reaches zero power?|| A card reduced to 0 power or health is put into the break zone.
12.4.4. Characters whose power is 0 or less are put
|Targeted summons & abilities with requirements (Mustadio & Laguna L)||If I play Mustadio and choose a target, and my opponent use Sylph after choosing it. What happens?||Mustadio’s ability now has an illegal target and does nothing. Declaring target is done while paying while the target is really chosing by the effects AFTER thus why Aerith & sylph for example can stop the effects.||Official FAQ|
|Cecil interacting with targeted spells.||Must my Sylph target my opponent’s Cecil?|| All spells (friend or foe) that keyword ‘choose’ targets Cecil must do so.
Please note that Ex are optional trigger decided by damaged player. Also that if two or more targets are allowed, Cecil must be but one of them.
|All ex bursts||What type of effect are Ex bursts? Abilities, Summons, separate effect type? Can Zidane be targeted by for example Ifrit ex burst?||Ex effects retains their source type. If Ex triggered is a summon it’s a summon.|
|Ex Burst effects||Can you respond to an Ex Effect?||No, Ex effects resolves immediately and disallow responses.|
|Auto Abilities||Can Auto Abilities be stopped?||Once triggered, auto abilities cannot be stopped, but allows responses (unless target is made illegal)|
|Kimahri & stolen (S) abilities||Can Kimahri benefit from special abilities like Blitz Ace? (“Tidus gains[…]”)||Kimahri can use effects like it had the character’s name|
|Declared attacker & shiva/dull/(S) requiring dull etc||If I have to dull an attacker as response to attacking with it (Omnislash or opponent Shiva) – Can I still deal damage?||As long as the attack is declared before activating an effect that dulls occurs (Omnislash, Shiva etc) – the attack goes through as usual.|
|Party attackers with & without first strike||How is first strike handled in party attacks?||For attackers, first strike applies only if all attackers have it. Defenders simply deal their damage before (can distribute damage freely).||FF TCG FAQ|
|Wakka & specials as response||If Wakka’s (S) is used as response to an ability already put on the stack. Does that ability still play out?||Yes, if already on stack, Wakka cannot stop it. The stacked ability is completely separated from the character using it.|
|All Summons/abilities||Unclear which phases abilities & summons can be used||Summons and activation abilities can only be used in attack & main phases.|
|Multiple Category cards like DFF-VII or DFF-X||DFF characters will (mostly) have 2 categories. Can Jessie still target Light Cloud who is DFF – VII?||Cards with 2 categories like DFF – VII are both “DFF” AND “VII”|
|Cecil & multiple target spells||With Cecil out – what happens with effects that target multiple forwards? Is only Cecil chosen by Jihl?||As long as the condition is fulfilled that Cecil IS TARGETED – targeting others aswell is fine.|
|On play cards||Can you respond to your own abilities? And On Play Effects?||Yes, you can respond to your own abilities|
|Blocking characters||If a forward is blocked, but the blocker is removed as response, according to stack it happened before? Hence I’d deal a damage?||As long as a forwards attack has been blocker – it cannot deal damage to a player on this attack. Even if the defender is removed in any way.|
|Aerith & summons/ability interaction||Can Aeriths response stop summons and abilities that target forwards?||Abilities/summons that chooses forwards affected by Aeriths response now have no legal target and fails.|
|Summoning sickness||Does summoning sickness (abilities that require tap not playable the turn they are played) last until the end of my turn or for a full turn rotation?||Summoning sickness lasts for a full turn duration.|
|Party attackers with special abilities||Can Zidane make my other party member unblockable too? Effectively letting for example Mime hit safely? Brave only works for the one with it.||No abilities are transfered to party members. Zidane/brave etc denied other party members.|
|Power modifications and Minwu||Any power modifier like Warrior or Light, Terra (R) etc is counted first – if it’s lethal by then it bypasses Minwu.|| 1: Minwu is calculated LAST always (after Terra/Warrior of Light).
2: Tidus with Minwu dies from Warrior of Light.
|Backups with abilities costing [Dull]||Starter deck rules are not so specific – it states forwards cannot activate abilities with dull as part of the cost the turn they are played.||The CHARACTER (not forward) cannot use abilities with dull as part of the cost unless they have haste or have been on the field during a start of turn.|
Phase related questions:
Stack related FAQ:
@Lord_Nerf Yes, thats right.
— 景山太郎 (@john_monocolor) March 1, 2017
@Lord_Nerf Yes. Any player he or she has priority keeps priority until he or she pass it. Both player pass priority, top of stack is resolve
— 景山太郎 (@john_monocolor) February 24, 2017
Phase Flow FAQ
|Cards affected:||Error/problem||Confirmed to be||Source|
|Attacking forwards||Does the attacking forward still count as “attacking” at the end of the damage step? And this isn’t a new attack preparation step we’re talking about?||Attacking forward is still attacking until back to preparetion step or you finish the attack phase.|
|First strike/normal||Is there an opportunity to cast summons or abilities inbetween first strike and normal damage?||Nope. It’s a flat resolution with no interaction during. Have to act before (after block) or after (between resolution and the next attack preparation step)|